Snow-Day Wonders

Another snow day in Atlanta, another day of introversion and pondering.  I am taking advantage of this quiet to work on projects, but it is all too easy to become distracted by the everyday-ness of things.  It is easy to loose sight of just how precious things are when you have them around you all the time.  You can become distracted from the marvel that is your life, seeing just monotony… more of the same… boredom.

Pay attention.  Be astonished.  Tell about it.

-Mary Oliver

I read this quote in an introduction to the liturgical season of Epiphany (the weeks between Christmas and Lent).  Epiphany is a season that asks us to be present, “look alive!”, and open our hearts to the presence of God-with-us.  As such, Oliver’s words are an apt call to me on this third day of being stranded by Atlanta’s sudden ice.

“Pay attention!”  Even now, as I sit on this couch, it is good to pay attention… yes, even to the things I thought I knew perfectly well.  “Be astonished!”  In the midst of this monotony, astonishment awaits for those willing to find it.  “Tell about it.”  What is there to tell about this most usual and beautiful of days?  I see a cuddly kitten asleep on the couch next to me.  I see a wonderful man working on his own projects just over there.  I hear the heat kick on and the clock ticking in the next room.  I think about butternut and acorn squash to be roasted for dinner.  How can one be bored when there are such wonders as these?

One Reply to “Snow-Day Wonders”

Leave a Reply

