You Keep Your Sabbath, I’ll Keep Mine

I haven’t been to church in a long time.  For someone who is only days away from completing her Masters of Divinity degree, this might seem like a very strange thing.  But I’m afraid it’s true.  Not only is it true, I’m afraid it’s not all that unusual or strange.  We all have our ways of setting aside time that is not work-related, but is restorative.  I’m not talking about turning on the t.v. when you get home, or the hours we waste on social media websites.  I’m talking about actual time for the good of living.  And living well.

I, for one, have no strict or predictable “sabbath” time.  The whole idea of “sabbath” is one that lends itself both to predictability and non-conformity alike: it is simply time set aside for renewal… so when you do get back to work (and you do get back to work), you are more centered, less scattered, and more ready to take on the challenges of labor.  If you need the same routine to get there, good.  If you need to mix things up a bit, good.

For me, this time is usually the weekends (though I take time on the weekends to catch up on school-related things).  These “sabbath times” often include the following:

  1. home-made breakfast
  2. time with friends
  3. time alone
  4. longer showers
  5. cleaning
  6. having more than one drink
  7. blogging

Speaking of home-made breakfasts, I am so glad I attempted to poach eggs.  One of my favorite things in the WORLD is  a good poached egg… but I have always been too afraid to try it.  Not anymore, my friends, not anymore.

How to Poach an Egg

Boil water (um, hello?).  It doesn’t need to be a rolling boil, but a boil all the same.

Stir the water into what some might call a “whirlwind,” a “tornado,” or some other air-based metaphor.  I, for one, would recommend stirring the water into a “whirlpool”… fast enough that the water continues to spin vigorously for about 15 to 20 seconds after you’ve stopped stirring.

Crack an egg into the center of the “whirlpool.”  I find it helpful to crack the egg before starting to stir, but hold off on opening the cracked egg into the water until the “whirlpool” is really going.  Does that make sense?

Let the egg cook for about two minutes for firm whites, runny yolks.  Scoop out with some straining device (I use that funny ladle with prongs that we usually use for pasta… same principle: get hot cooked thing out of hot water without cooking your hands).

Serve over a toasted English Muffin (but spare the Canadian Bacon, please… I’d rather have it plain anyway, or, when I have it, sliced avocado… oh, a good and strange variation: put some kind of sweet jelly or jam onto the English Muffin to get sweet and salty together).

Enjoy!

And while you’re at it, find some “sabbath time” for yourself this week.  I’m sure you need it as much as I do.

7 Replies to “You Keep Your Sabbath, I’ll Keep Mine”

  1. No, I haven’t read it! I regret that I am not well-read, especially when it comes to poetry. Fortunately, I am friends with folks who are and can make apt suggestions. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I love it! My favorite part is the end: “so instead of getting to heaven at last, I’m going all along!”

    Thanks for sharing the link.

    Like

  3. If you are feeling extra fancy, you might consider some spinach sauteed with garlic between your muffin and your egg. It’s a particular favorite of mine, and you can cook up the spinach while the water is coming to a boil.

    Like

Leave a Reply

