Asparagus, Arugula and Spinach Salad

I’ve fallen behind in my food blogging lately.  Well, really, I’ve fallen behind on cooking lately.  Seems that when the weather turns nice, all I want to eat is fresh fruit, bagels, and eggs.  Who knew?  Unfortunately, this means that most of my cooking impulses have gone into finding fresh foods for cheap.  Not the best fodder for my blogging wants.

So when Easter came about and the Nashville family lured me out of my ill-conceived travel plans (that is to say, when the prospect of spending a leisurely afternoon with long-loved friends combined itself with beautiful Spring weather), I found myself dreaming up a nice, fresh, scrumptious salad to serve my lovely friends.

(And when I say “dreaming up,” you should know that I really mean, “recalling.”  I’m sure I had this salad somewhere before…)

Behold: Asparagus, Arugula, and Spinach Salad! And it's so easy to make.

Recipe:

a hefty bunch of asparagus, cut into 2-inch lengths

1 bag baby spinach

1 bag baby arugula

zest of 1 lemon

juice of 1/2 lemon

1 tbs olive oil

1/4 c grated asiago cheese (100% optional, but, if you’re not against dairy, it’s worth it)

salt and pepper to taste

And it really doesn’t get much simpler.  The ingredient list pretty much is the recipe.  All you have to do is blanch the asparagus for about 30-45 seconds (to take off that raw asparagus bite without loosing that rich asparagus flavor), then soak it in cold water to stop the cooking process.  Once the asparagus cools, layer it with spinach, arugula, lemon zest and cheese.  Sprinkle the whole she-bang with the lemon juice and olive oil, and a hefty crack of sea salt and pepper just before serving.

Ta Da!

And, for your viewing pleasure… more pictures from one fabulous Easter potluck!

Leave a Reply

