What Weekends Are Good For

I don’t know that I’ve ever really appreciated just how fabulous weekends are… that is, until I went two weeks without a proper weekend.

Don’t get me wrong; I wasn’t forced to work these two weekends in a row.  I just didn’t get time to breathe!  Weekend one was full of concerts, charity walks, and church.  Weekend two (last weekend) brought a picnic, a wedding, a lunch, and eight hours of driving.  Is it any wonder that this most recent week was pretty much a failure?

I can confidently say that I accomplished NO work this week, despite the great necessity to do work.  Ok, so I did the minimum to get by, but I spent far more time alone, asleep, watching t.v., and hanging out with friends than doing the work I should have been doing.  Case in point?  I have 15 tests waiting to be graded on my coffee table (those tests were taken this Wednesday, and I have only read through one).  Case in another point?  A paper (which is due on Monday) is still waiting to be researched.  There are cases and points all over the place.  I won’t bore you with more.

Even with this slightly grim picture, all is not lost.  I don’t know where it’s coming from, but I have a burgeoning sense that I can accomplish everything that needs to be accomplished.  Can I do it perfectly?  No.  Can I do it at all?  Yes.

Suffice it to say, though, that I am taking advantage of THIS weekend to the best of my ability.  It may be a bad move to take [even more] time out for personal self-care, but one of the “sleeper effects” of the past two weekends without rest has been a downed immune system.  I am nursing myself through a head cold with plenty of fluids, more sleep, and decongestants.

After all, it’s not the worst thing in the world to give yourself some rest on the weekend.

Leave a Reply

