Basic, Fantastic: Bran

When was the last time you had a bran muffin? I bet it was a while ago, and there’s no good reason why it’s been so long, is there? Is there?

Bran Muffins

Behold! the best basic, fruity and nutty bran muffins ever made! They’re chock full of nutrition, and they’re just plain delicious.  I made them with raisins, apricots, and walnuts, but you can choose the fruit/nut combination you like best (for instance, I’ve also included prunes into the above mix).  I’m thinking that my next batch will include dried cherries and pecans…

The Great Mixing
Look at all those raisins, walnuts, and apricots! Mmm, tasty.

Here’s the recipe:
1 1/2 c wheat bran
1 c vanilla soy milk
1/3 c canola oil
1 egg (substitute)
2/3 c brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 c all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c raisins
1/2 c apricots, chopped
1/2 c walnuts, chopped

Heat oven to 375, and prepare 12-cup muffin tin with either non-stick spray or liners.
Mix wheat bran and soymilk until moistened; let sit for 10 minutes while you prepare the rest. Beat oil, egg, sugar, vanilla together, then mix into bran mixture. Sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Stir into bran/soymilk mixture until just blended. Fold in chopped fruits and nuts, spoon into muffin tin. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Done!

4 Replies to “Basic, Fantastic: Bran”

  1. Hey Jacquie!

    I just wanted to let you know that I am three posts into a new blog—cracktheplates.com–and I’d love for you to check it out! I’ve linked to you on my homepage, too. Will you update yours to reflect my new space? I’ll hopefully be moving content from the other one onto this one.

    Love!!
    adrienne

    Like

Leave a Reply

