I’m Officially a “Third Year M.Div”

Do you know what this looks like?

Desk, Oh Desk

It looks like it’s going to be a good semester… that’s what.

Next Monday, I’ll be starting my fifth of six semesters in my Masters of Divinity program.  And by the looks of those books, it’s going to be a busy one.  In all, there are 17 books on that shelf–and all of them are required reading this semester.  One book isn’t on the shelf now, because I’m currently reading it for fun.

But let me tell you about my class schedule.  Feminist Theological Ethics, Jewish/Christian Relations, Social Action in the City, Field Education (where I intern as a TA in a Church History course at a nearby college), and M.Div Project (sort of like a thesis, but experientially-based).  Sounds like fun, huh?

Actually, to see it all in writing is a little frightening…

To be truthful, I have been rather anxious about the start of the school year.  This summer has been so good to me: I’ve had a full-time job that I enjoy and that I’m good at, a good-sized vacation in June, and a few really great visits home to see family.  It’s felt like I’ve kept perfectly busy the whole time.

Usually, I anticipate the beginning of the school year with utter excitement mostly because of summer’s general laziness.  I can take the time to be lazy and boring and to become bored with myself, and the start of classes is like a glimmer of productivity on the horizon.  But I’ve not been bored this summer.  Without this boredom, 15 credit hours seemed, well, a little more daunting than usual.

But that all changed when I saw the incoming class at orientation.  I’m part of the leadership teams of two student organizations, so I was given the opportunity to present one of those organizations this Tuesday.  Being back in that school and being surrounded by individuals who are just plain excited to be there reminded me that I have a pretty sweet life as a student… and not just generally; as a student at this school, I’m busier during the academic year than I ever was as an undergraduate, but I get to study things I love.  I get to work with, collaborate with, and learn with people who are simply phenomenal.  What could be sweeter than that?

So as this new school year gets underway, I hope that I can remember some of the excitement and gratitude that swept me in my first few months here.  I hope that I can make the best of what little time I have left here.  Four semesters down, two to go.

Leave a Reply

