Bike Riding in Nashville

I am not a bike rider.  At least, not since I was twelve.  But I’ve had a bike here in Nashville for the past two years, and never have I ridden it for more than 1/10 of a mile.  This is mostly due to the large hill that separates me and 90% of the places to which I would naturally bike.  That is, until this weekend.

Syl came to town this weekend, and for the past month, he has been biking more and more around Atlanta.  So, he planned out a five mile bike ride for the two of us.  It was surprisingly fun (that is, surprisingly fun for someone who hasn’t ridden a bike in over a decade)!  We made it over the large hill that separates me from the rest of the world, and after that it was (mostly) downhill.  We rode past Centennial Park, through Vanderbilt’s campus, into the Hillsboro Village area; we went all sorts of places!  I wish I had taken a picture or two to show you, but I was having enough trouble making appropriate turn signals while staying balanced to worry about a camera.  Perhaps next time.

In the future, we will surely be planning more biking trips.  We can bike around a lake of some sort.  We could ride our bikes out there, then walk around for a while, then take our time going home.  Perhaps.  Right now I need to work on that hill, again.

Leave a Reply

